## Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

William K. (Bill) Bowers

Phyllis J. Henderson

Robert L. Ridgeway III

Rave Felder

Mia S. McLeod

Ralph W. Norman

James E. Smith Jr.

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Research Analyst/Auditor

June 8, 2016

The Honorable Alan Wilson Attn: John McIntosh, Chief Dep. Attorney General South Carolina Attorney General 1000 Assembly Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Hand-Delivered

Dear Attorney General Wilson:

The House Legislative Oversight Committee ("Committee") is conducting an oversight study of the Department of Public Safety ("DPS") pursuant to S.C. Code Section 2-2-5, et. seq. On June 1, 2016, the Committee voted to refer the sworn testimony provided by Ms. Tosha Autry, DPS' Human Resources Director, during the May 5, 2016, Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee meeting to your office for review. The Committee respectfully requests that the Attorney General's Office review this matter to assess any potential violations of S.C. Code Section 2-2-100, contempt, and that it take any appropriate actions. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina.

Sincerely,

Signature Redacted

Wm. Weston J. Newton Committee Chair

cc: The Honorable Jay Lucas, Speaker

House Legislative Oversight Committee Members

The Honorable Nikki R. Haley, Governor Mr. Leroy Smith, Department of Public Safety Director